Japan trip-Hokkaido is not my cup of tea (I love Shakotan though!)

Cape Kamui, shot with a digital camera. Only!

Cape Kamui, shot with a digital camera. Only!

Cape Kamui in Shakotan. The waters are so clear and blue!!!
Cape Kamui in Shakotan. The waters are so clear and blue!!!
The opposite side of the cape is just as breath taking! (although I was scared shitless by the height and winds)

The opposite side of the cape is just as breath taking! (although I was scared shitless by the height and winds)

 

 

I only enjoyed Shakotan of all things. Sapporo`s weather is wonderful. It is as cool as Genting highlands.

Sapporo crab buffet! Plus, all waiters speak Mandarin to accomodate the hordes of Chinese tourists...

Sapporo crab buffet! Plus, all waiters speak Mandarin to accomodate the hordes of Chinese tourists...

The aftermath...

Sapporo crab buffet: The aftermath...

Sapporo in the night

Sapporo in the night

This summer vegetable pasta is delicious! Check out that soft boiled egg sitting on top of this dish... How did the chefs do that?

Sapporo: This summer vegetable pasta is delicious! Check out that soft boiled egg sitting on top of this dish... How did the chefs do that?

This ramen is delicious! Right under the blanket of spring onions is tender charsiew meat and clear pork consomme. Very delicate on the taste buds and stomach ~
This ramen is delicious! Right under the blanket of spring onions is tender charsiew meat and clear pork consomme. Very delicate on the taste buds and stomach ~
Personally I think this is overrated... Or maybe tourism killed the flavour. I prefer having cup noodles...

Personally I think this is overrated... Or maybe tourism killed the flavour. I prefer having cup noodles...

Milk cream puff from Asahikawa~~~ Almost like ice cream~~~

Milk cream puff from Asahikawa~~~ Almost like ice cream~~~

Oh yeah and the food is a small consolation. Milk pudding at Tomita farm was excellent (despite being overrun with Chinese-HK tour buses). I had 2 servings of melons. The cream puff was light and delicious. Ramen at Asahikawa was good. Crab in Sapporo was worth the trip although it is not recommended to bring your date there if you want to impress her/him.

A moving oven

Norokko train to Furano: A moving oven

The reason why the ride was so hot and stuffy... because were in the BBQ car!!!!

The reason why the ride was so hot and stuffy... because we're in the BBQ car!!!!

Please allow the staff choose the melon slice. An obvious case of the ugly chinese tourist. This is one of the reasons why I avoided signing up for tour packages in Spore.

The sign says in Mandarin: 'Please allow the staff choose the melon slice.' An obvious case of the ugly chinese tourist. This is one of the reasons why I avoided signing up for tour packages in S'pore. Imagine having to fight for a bite of food on the table with those people ...

2 slices of this lovely fruit makes the suffering go away...

2 slices of this lovely fruit makes the suffering go away... slurp

The milk pudding is divine!!! So smooth and light. The curry rice tastes crappy though... with spice overload. I cant tell whether theres more rice or cumin seeds...

The milk pudding is divine!!! So smooth and light. The curry rice tastes crappy though... with spice overload. I can't tell whether there's more rice or cumin seeds...

Five-colored field at Tomita farm

Five-colored field at Tomita farm

The smell of lavender wafting wherever I go~~~ Aaaaah....gh.

The smell of lavender wafting wherever I go~~~ Aaaaah....gh.

Otherwise, Hokkaido feels like a tourist hotbed with probably 50% of its populace made of Chinese/Hong Kong tourists. So bad that even the waiters at the well-known crab buffet restaurant in Sapporo started speaking to me in Mandarin!(actually the restaurant hired Taiwanese) And damn, Furano is swelteringly hot! I`m amazed the pretty flowers have not shrivelled to their roots.

Why I enjoyed Shakotan very much was 2 reasons:

The scenery at Cape Kamui is just amazing!!

The scenery at Cape Kamui is just amazing!!

1) The view is amazing. It is as awesome as the Fireworks dear chihaya san brought me to. I wanted to yell at the top of my voice from the cliff because it`s too beautiful!!! (partially also because of the height and very narrow trail. I was scared shitless that the sea wind would blow me down the cliff) Thanks to Taichirou san, who kindly offered his hand and helped me across the narrow trail (I was scared shitless by the height…), I could enjoy the magical view of Cape Kamui. And he:s also kind enough to take very good pictures of me at the cape and by the Otaru canal. I made a new friend! \(>w<)/

Tanaka Taichiro san and me. The gate to Cape Kamui says Women are not allowed. Probably because the sea breeze might blow their kimonos open? *panchira*

Tanaka Taichiro san and me. The gate to Cape Kamui says 'Women are not allowed'. Probably because the sea breeze might blow their kimonos open? *panchira*

 

Otaru canal~no smell unlike our stinky Singapore river!

Otaru canal~no smell unlike our stinky Singapore river!

 

Yo! Buddha brotha~ A weird looking mannequin in one of Otarus shops...

Yo! Buddha brotha~ A weird looking mannequin in one of Otaru's shops...

Crunchy and sweet, the perfect after lunch dessert.

Otaru: Crunchy and sweet, the perfect after lunch dessert.

Uni donburi and fluffy buttered potato!!!
Lunch in Otaru: Uni donburi and fluffy buttered potato!!!
Otaru souvenir shop has full of interesting gag items like this car decal...Oyaji!!!

Otaru souvenir shop has full of interesting gag items like this car decal...Oyaji!!!

... A parody of Boss Coffee.

... A parody of Boss Coffee. I just love the old man's look~

No Employment Education and Technical skills. Perhaps I have that inner desire to be one too?

A hot favourite of mine... NEET: No Employment Education and Technical skills. Perhaps I have that inner desire to be one too?

2) Because it is a 3hr bus ride from Otaru and the cape is very scary to reach, no travel agency has put it in their packages and probably the insurance companies would want to exclude this in their policies (ie risky). Therefore, very few tourists want to visit the cape. Good! (>w<)b

 Other than Shakotan and Sapporo, I do not find Hokkaido a place worth going to if one wants to experience authentic Japan. So much so that I started missing the craziness of Tokyo and the cold, wet weather of Tohoku. I would rather stay in Nikko for a few more days and chat with the nice elderly there!

(–|||)

Leave a comment

Filed under Travelling:Outstation

Leave a Reply

