Korea’s Best Kept Secret: Kim Min Jong (尊敬)

キム・ミン・ジョンが大好きだ!!!いい男だから。(゜∀゜)b 

http://www.minjong.jp/

When it comes to all things Korean, I could only think of Bae Yong Jun, Samsung and kimchi. Oh yes, and the ubiquitous TV dramas. I confess the only Korean dramas I’ve ever watched were ’18 year-old Bride’ and ‘Fight on!Geon Suk’.

I got to know of Kim Min Jong from my assistant sempai during one of our lunch conversations. We were talking about how work cultures in North Asia (kr & jp) were more ‘challenging’ to the mind, body and spirit. I soon learnt that she had studied the Korean language before. So I casually asked which Korean celebrity she liked.

Kim Min Jong.

Kim Min Jong? Who’s that??

Kim Min Jong is big,huge,colossal in Korea and both men and women in Korea love him. Yes, MEN absolutely adore him and they are not gays, mind you. They admire his character, loyalty and strong sense of commitment to people in need, especially friends who are in financial trouble. I hadn’t listened to his music nor have I watched his dramas before. But hearing my sempai’s narrative of his life and acts, he struck me as a person with a beautiful spirit and a lot of talent to boot.

And when my sempai handed a recorded audio sample of his concert, I was awestruck by his strong, flawless vocals. Most stars I’ve watched on TV can’t carry out a live performance. Either they go off-key or they mime. Ah fark. I really want to hit them baby one more time.

As far as I can remember, the last person who could carry out a live performance perfectly was the legendary Micheal Jackson. 

There was no Asian equivalent until Kim Min Jong. Just watch the video again and notice that he pulled the microphone away and also spoke into it. It will have to take an immense amount of practice to coordinate with the sound technician if he were to mime. This is the REAL stuff man!

This assistant sempai is amazing too. I was flabbergasted when she showed the unofficial fansite she set up with a few other Kim Min Jong fans. The star himself got wind of the fansite and wanted to meet them. My assistant sempai flew to Korea to meet him in person and was invited to a movie premiere of his film. She even mailed, for free, Kim Min Jong’s albums to fans in other countries because none of his CDs were sold there.

 This afternoon, she held up a CD cover with Kim Min Jong’s very yummy picture on it. I thought she printed it for me because I told her I liked that picture from her gallery.
I told her,”You don’t have to go through the trouble to print the picture for me.” 

She stared at me and then flipped the CD cover over.

There’s a CD in it!!!

I started to bleed from the nose.

2 Comments

Filed under Revelations on work, Sexy stuff

2 responses to “Korea’s Best Kept Secret: Kim Min Jong (尊敬)

  1. パルミラ

    こんばんは。キム・ミン・ジョンさんのことはArzenさんの記事で初めて知りました!
    卒論出し終わったら、近くのレンタルDVD屋に行って、彼の作品をチェックしたいと思いまーす!
    (あ!私の卒業式は3月15日です。返信遅くなりました。ごめんなさい。)

    私も実は、現在、気になる韓国出身の俳優さんが一人います。
    Jhon-Hoon(キム・ジョンフン)という人です(^^)/
    いい男の人の存在は、私たち女性を元気にしてくれま~す♪

  2. こんばんは、パルミラさん!おげんきですか?(^ワ^)
    や~~!!!3月15日を忘れないようにします!私に卒業式の日を知らせてありがとうございます。パルミラさんはすごくがんばったんです!d(≧ヮ≦)b

    ところで、パルミラさんも韓国の俳優が好きですか?!
    キム・ジョンフンさんが知っていないですが(韓国ドラマ「宮」はめったに見ないので)(^^;)
    うわ、彼の日本語が上手です!

    キム・ミンジョンさんのことは韓国語が話せる先輩ではじめて知りました。優しい先輩が彼のことを教えてあげました。私が彼の過去に感動します。それから、彼の音楽とPVとドラマ断片を貸します。なぜ韓国で彼が人気のある、女性も男性も、だんだんに分ってきます。

    彼の献身と純潔な心です。
    (歌声も演劇も音楽も~vvv)
    PS:先輩がお勧めのキム・ミンジョンドラマは「Secret」 と 「ミスターQ」

Leave a Reply

