A Gruesome Matricide:A Manga’s Fault?

A 17 year-old boy appeared at the police station carrying his mother’s severed head in a plastic bag in Aizuwakamatsu in Fukushima prefecture. The police found his mother’s dismembered body and arrested him on suspicion of murder which the boy admitted. He killed his mother while she was asleep and proceeded to behead the body. The reason why he did that, he claimed it was because he wanted to know what it was like to kill someone and he wanted to do that in the name of peace.(?!)  

I heard the news on the morning radio in the car and thought that this kid is really screwed. When I read the news article from Yomiuri News online just now, I find him totally absurd.He is one very very very screwed kid.

The reason why I decided to read up more on this horrific case was because the Chinese (anime-manga paradise) site had an article on it. The article claimed that the kid read certain violent comics that feature dismemberment and lots of bloodshed which could have caused him to have such murderous inclinations. Of course I was dying to know what those comics were so I can read them myself. And I scrolled on… …

I nearly fell off my chair in disappointment but I wasn’t surprised that one of the manga is 多重人格探偵サイコ(MPD PSYCHO) written by Ohtsuka Eiji and drawn by Tajima Shou. Even wikipedia Japan wrote about this comic being found in the kid’s home.

I’ve read the manga 4 years ago and it was a really morbid piece of work. The story is pretty complex(as mind-boggling as Deathnote), has a lot of twists, some sci-fi conspiracy and the hero detective struggling to uncover his dark past, the personalities residing in him and to stop the terrorist conspiracy of course. Great, clean artwork and an exciting story. This is why I am so disappointed that the manga is implicated by the murder.

Sigh, I hope the manga doesn’t get banned. I’ve seen worse manga than this such as the notoriously nauseating 殺し屋一(Ichi the Killer). Holy god, that’s the most horrible, grossly bloody, disgusting manga I’ve ever set my eyes upon. There’s rape, a penis got fried in boiling oil, dismemberment and other *barf* inhuman stuff in the manga. I really don’t want to know what goes on in the mangaka’s head. This manga was even banned in some parts of Japan due to its graphic contents.

 I’m not blaming the kid for reading MPD Psycho. He did something which he may regret for the rest of his life even though he may seem totally nonchalant about it now. The self-punishing guilt is probably enough to make him suffer and he may never forgive himself for his actions. I just hope the manga doesn’t get the blame(banned actually). The very things he owns doesn’t turn another person into a murderer. I’m sure the students from the high school he goes to are not mentally deranged. Nor the TV programmes he watches everyday.

It is a deep psychological problem which has been troubling his mind and being a loner really doesn’t help. Ennui and loneliness blurred the line between reality and imagination. The mangas he reads are probably his only friend and reality. He really is screwed. I was pretty taken aback when the police quoted what the kid said:

“I want terrorism & war to disappear from the world. It didn’t matter whom I chose to kill.”

Whose world is he talking about? It is very sad that the terrorism and war in his own world had only gotten worse.

And all he needed was a friend. A reality check.  

2 Comments

Filed under Pissed

2 responses to “A Gruesome Matricide:A Manga’s Fault?

  1. omg, this is scary… gee… he’s absolutely convoluted in his thinking. i pray for him sia…

  2. Komban wa, Miss wRong! ^w^
    Sorry to scare you with this gory entry~ BOO!

    The creepiest part was what the police quoted him of saying.
    “I want terrorism & war to disappear… …”
    This is because in the manga, there were a few terrorist activities where hostages get shot, buildings get bombed etc to taunt the detectives.
    Methinks he’s living in the manga instead of here.
    The Yomiuri news article’s pretty frightening yea? Can sleep tonight?

Leave a Reply

